Farkhunda

Dear friends,

With this post I will share with you my Sunday impressions.

Yesterday I attended a ceremony dedicated to the memory of Farkhunda in the Swedish city of Gothenburg, in one it’s major squares called Gustav Adolf’s torg. It started at around 18:00, and finished while the sun was on it’s way down, providing streaks of pink and orange across the sky. Swedish sunsets are always breathtaking.

I arrived early and found the people who had organized the event putting up photos of Farkhunda, laying out red flowers and petals, and putting candles on the floor, candles that spelled out her name. By the time everyone had arrived, I can only guess that we might have been 100 people, almost all from the Afghan community. Men, women, and children, all standing together in solidarity for the common goal of peace and a safer Afghanistan for it’s women. I was touched to see the people come together for Farkhunda, and although I didn’t understand the speeches, since almost all of them were in Dari, I still felt the feelings and emotions that were conveyed, and it was very heavy.

In one of the few speeches where I could understand what was being said, one of the ladies spoke of “Solidarity between men and women” as being key to ending brutality and violence towards women, and I couldn’t agree more.

I pray that Afghanistan and it’s women will one day overcome, on this day when my heart is full of sadness because of what happened to Farkhunda.

IMG_0995.JPG

Leave a Reply

